Sport Clips, Inc. franchises Sport Clips Haircuts, sports-themed stores that offer haircuts and hair styling, mainly to men and boys, and sell related hair care products. Its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) counts 1,788 Sport Clips stores in the United States at the end of 2025, 1,702 of them franchised (Item 20).
Key figures
Investment
from $236,800
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
6% of Net Sales
Initial fee
from $30,000
Listing updated October 24, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Sport Clips Haircuts; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
Key figures
Investment
from $236,800
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
6% of Net Sales
Initial fee
from $30,000
Listing updated October 24, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Sport Clips Haircuts; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
About the franchise
According to Item 1 of the FDD, Sport Clips, Inc., the franchisor, is a Texas corporation incorporated on July 13, 1995, with its principal address at 110 Sport Clips Way, Georgetown, Texas. Item 1 also states that the company has sold Sport Clips franchises since November 1995 and has operated Sport Clips stores since 1993. The FDD names no parent company or predecessor; two affiliated companies own the trademarks that the franchisor licenses to franchisees.
The System Wide Outlet Summary in Item 20 of the 2026 FDD counts 1,860 Sport Clips stores at the end of 2023, 1,815 at the end of 2024, and 1,788 at the end of 2025. From the end of 2023 to the end of 2025, franchised stores fell from 1,785 to 1,702, a net decrease of 83, while company-owned stores rose from 75 to 86. Item 19 of the same FDD reports 2025 gross sales for mature franchised Sport Clips stores, those with more than two years in operation, along with 2025 expense reports for company-owned stores.
Item 7 of the FDD puts the total estimated initial investment from $236,800, excluding real estate costs, royalties, and marketing fund contributions. All amounts in the Item 7 table are for one store except the initial franchise fee. The fee line in that table starts at the $30,000 single-store fee; as a rule, new franchisees sign a three-store Multi-Unit Development Addendum (MUDA) with a $69,500 fee, and the FDD prints no total for that case. The space Sport Clips typically approves is 1,000 to 1,500 square feet, and stores are generally located in strip centers. The median investment to open one Sport Clips store during the calendar year before the FDD's April 1, 2026, issue date was $399,757 (FDD Items 1 and 7).
Under the MUDA, an addendum to the Franchise Agreement, new franchisees pay the $69,500 initial franchise fee in one lump sum and get the right to open three Sport Clips stores within a specified area over three years: $30,000 for the first store, $24,500 for the second, and $15,000 for the third. Sport Clips awards a single-store Franchise Agreement, with a $30,000 fee, only in specified circumstances, for example to an approved Sport Clips store manager or to a U.S. Armed Forces veteran who does not financially qualify for more licenses. At its discretion, it may also offer a two-store MUDA for $54,500. A new franchisee who is an honorably discharged U.S. veteran with at least one year of active service is eligible for a 20% reduction on all initial franchise fees under the VetFran program. Initial franchise fees are not refundable (FDD Items 1 and 5).
Before the store opens, you also pay Sport Clips a $30,000 Grand Opening advertising deposit, which the Sport Clips Ad Fund spends to promote your store in its local market area; a Supplemental Services Fee, currently required in all areas, of $5,000 for the first store, $4,000 for the second, and $3,000 for each further store; and $1,000 for the point-of-sale software license (FDD Items 5 and 7). Item 11 estimates the computer system, including the point-of-sale system and the manager's laptop, at $8,900. For one store, these costs are already part of the Item 7 estimate: Grand Opening Advertising and the Supplemental Services Fee are lines of the table, and its Fixtures and Equipment line covers computer equipment, with a laptop for the store manager, and point-of-sale software (FDD Item 7, Note 5).
Once the store is open, the Royalty is 6% of Net Sales, paid every Monday by ACH (Automated Clearing House) transfer. The Advertising Fund contribution, the Training Fee, the Stylist Recruitment Fee, the Technology Fee, and the Relief Fund contribution are billed the same way each week, and Sport Clips' current policy, which it can change and reviews each December, sets a weekly cap on each of them except the Relief Fund contribution. Local cooperative fees apply only if franchisees owning 75% or more of the stores in your market area vote to form a cooperative (FDD Items 6 and 11).
Included in the franchise
Franchisee requirements
Franchise agreement
The initial term of the Franchise Agreement is 5 years. Every 5 years, if you are in good standing, you can add another 5-year term by meeting the conditions, which include notifying Sport Clips, signing the then-current agreement (which may contain materially different terms), completing any required training, remodeling as required, signing a release, and paying the renewal fee: $5,000, or $3,500 if you own three or more open Sport Clips stores (FDD Items 6 and 17).
Frequently asked questions
Similar franchises in this category
Beauty & Personal Care: Haircuts & Waxing
Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?
Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.
