Kumon North America, Inc. franchises Kumon Math and Reading Centers, after-school learning centers that teach math and reading with the Kumon Method, a worksheet-based program. Instead of a percentage of revenue, Kumon charges a monthly royalty for each enrolled student in each subject, at different rates for different students.
Key figures
Investment
from $101,630
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
$38 per student per month
Initial fee
$2,000
Listing updated October 20, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Kumon; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
Key figures
Investment
from $101,630
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
$38 per student per month
Initial fee
$2,000
Listing updated October 20, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Kumon; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
About the franchise
Item 20 of Kumon's 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), issued March 27, 2026, counts 1,710 Kumon Centers in the USA as of December 31, 2025, listed by state and the District of Columbia: 1,705 franchised and 5 company-owned. The total was 1,659 at the end of 2023 and 1,689 at the end of 2024, while company-owned Centers fell from 28 at the start of 2023 to 5. The franchisor, Kumon North America, Inc., is a subsidiary of Kumon Institute of Education Company, Ltd., a Japanese corporation, and has offered Kumon franchises since 1994 (FDD Items 1 and 20). Item 19 of the 2026 FDD states: "We do not make any representations about a franchisee's future financial performance or the past financial performance of company-owned or franchised outlets."
Kumon Centers are after-school learning centers that teach the Kumon Math and Reading programs with Kumon's Worksheets; the FDD calls each program a Subject-Franchise. A Center must offer students at least one of three options: attending the Center twice a week, online video sessions, or a combination of both, and students complete daily assignments at home on non-Center days (FDD Item 1). Before opening, Kumon charges the initial franchise fee, a materials fee, and a pre-opening marketing payment; it also charges a monthly royalty per enrolled student and, from the seventh month after opening, a monthly New Center Marketing Fee.
Included in the franchise
Franchisee requirements
Franchise agreement
The initial term of the Franchise Agreement is 5 years. A franchisee in good standing who meets Kumon's renewal requirements can renew for further 5-year terms, with no franchise fee or materials fee due on renewal. Renewal conditions include new FBI background checks and criminal history records, currently at least 50 Professional Development Credits (PDCs), a General Release, and signing the then-current form of Franchise Agreement, which may contain materially different terms (FDD Item 17; Franchise Agreement, Sections 5.1 and 5.2).
You may transfer the franchise only with Kumon's consent, and to transfer your entire Center business, you must have been a Kumon franchisee for at least two years. Before Kumon's final approval, the buyer must, among other things, complete the Instructor Development Program and pay Kumon an Initial Franchise Fee of $2,000 ($3,000 if the Center offers English as a Foreign Language, or EFL) and a $2,000 materials fee; Item 6 lists no transfer fee for you. Kumon expects that in most cases final approval will come no earlier than eight months after tentative approval, and after you sell, it may refuse to let you open a new Center for at least two years (FDD Items 6 and 17).
You may terminate the Franchise Agreement at any time with at least 270 days' advance written notice. Without that notice, you owe Kumon liquidated damages of three times your average monthly royalty in the three months before your last day of operating the Center (subject to state law); Kumon may waive them if it decides your reasons are justified. The same amount is due if you leave the business during a transfer before Kumon gives final approval to your buyer, or after it disapproves the buyer, and do not resume operating. If the agreement terminates automatically, for example when the Center stops holding class sessions without Kumon's prior written approval or you are charged with or convicted of a felony or a crime against children, the amount is based on the three months before that event. In North Dakota, the state addendum deletes the Liquidated Damages section of the Item 6 chart in its entirety, and the rider to the Franchise Agreement says parts of the provision might not be enforceable; in Minnesota, state law might prohibit requiring you to consent to liquidated damages (FDD Items 6 and 17; Franchise Agreement, Sections 14.3, 14.5, and 17.4; Exhibit G).
Frequently asked questions
Similar franchises in this category
Education: Tutoring & Early Education
Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?
Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.
