Valvoline Instant Oil Change Franchising, Inc. (VIOCF) franchises Valvoline Instant Oil Change Centers: quick-lube service centers offering stay-in-your-car oil changes, chassis lubrication, routine maintenance checks, and other automotive services. VIOCF does not operate any Centers itself; the company-owned Centers counted in its Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) are run by its affiliate Valvoline LLC.
Key figures
Investment
from $192,375
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
from 2% of Adjusted Gross Revenue
Initial fee
$30,000
Listing updated October 20, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Valvoline Instant Oil Change; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
Key figures
Investment
from $192,375
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
from 2% of Adjusted Gross Revenue
Initial fee
$30,000
Listing updated October 20, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Valvoline Instant Oil Change; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
About the franchise
VIOCF's FDD, issued December 26, 2025, and amended July 16, 2026, counts Centers at the end of each fiscal year, which for VIOCF ends on September 30 (Item 20, Table No. 1). There were 1,723 Centers at the end of fiscal 2023, 1,875 at the end of fiscal 2024, and 2,039 at the end of fiscal 2025. Of these, 879, 962, and 1,063 were franchised, and 844, 913, and 976 were company-owned Centers operated by Valvoline LLC. Item 19 of the same FDD reports historical data for company-operated Centers and, from point-of-sale data, for franchised Centers for the fiscal years ended September 30, 2023, 2024, and 2025, as well as year-over-year growth in same-store net sales.
Item 7 of the FDD estimates the initial investment for a new Center. Its lower total, from $192,375, assumes that you lease the land and building and lease the signage from VIOCF or its affiliate, an option the FDD gives to qualifying franchisees; Item 10 of the FDD describes VIOCF's sign lease under "Direct Financing." Signage bought outright is estimated from $45,000, and the FDD prints no total for leased real estate with purchased signage. Both Item 7 totals, the payments due before opening, the ongoing fees, and financing are in the questions below; capital and the opening deadlines are under "Franchisee requirements."
For a newly opened Center, the monthly royalty is 2% of Adjusted Gross Revenue (AGR) in the first year of the initial term, counted from the month the Center opens, 3% in the second year, and 6% from the third year until the end of the 15-year initial term. It is paid by electronic funds transfer on the 20th of each month, and the FDD says royalty fees are non-negotiable. AGR is Gross Revenue minus sales and similar taxes you collect, discounts given to customers or employees through coupons or promotions (including fleet discounts), and sales of your used fixtures and equipment. An existing franchisee whose Centers together had more than $1,000,000 in AGR in the prior fiscal year (October 1 to September 30) may instead pay, from the third year, a rate set by that combined AGR: 5.50% from $1,000,000, 5.25% from $1,500,000, 5.00% from $2,000,000, 4.75% from $2,500,000, 4.50% from $3,000,000, 4.25% from $4,000,000, and 4.00% from $5,000,000. Under that schedule, the 2% and 3% rates end early, from the month after a Center's trailing twelve-month AGR reaches $1,500,000 before the end of its second year, and the election is revoked from October 1 if the combined AGR for a fiscal year falls below $1,000,000. If you renew, VIOCF may have the right to charge a higher royalty percentage during the renewal term (FDD Item 6 and Exhibit A-8).
Included in the franchise
Franchisee requirements
Franchise agreement
The initial term of the License Agreement is 15 years. If you meet VIOCF's conditions, you may renew for two consecutive 5-year terms, one 10-year term, or one 15-year term. You must give written notice 12 to 18 months before the term ends, be in compliance with the agreement, sign a release of claims and the then-current license agreement, whose terms may be materially different, and pay a renewal fee of $2,500 for a 5-year term or $5,000 for a 10- or 15-year term (FDD Items 6 and 17).
A transfer requires a transfer fee of $30,000 for your first Center if transferred to a new franchisee, $5,000 if transferred to an existing franchisee, and $2,500 for each additional Center transferred in the same transaction; the fee is waived for certain transfers, including qualifying transfers within an existing ownership group or to certain qualified family members. During the term, at VIOCF's request and at your expense, you must update your Center to match the image of new Centers, but you will not have to spend more than the greater of $50,000 or 2% of Adjusted Gross Revenue (AGR) per Center over the previous five years, unless the changes are required by law, are needed to adopt new products, services, or methods, or are made on renewal (FDD Item 6).
Frequently asked questions
Similar franchises in this category
Auto Service: Repair & Oil Change
Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?
Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.

