Dunkin' Donuts Franchising LLC, a subsidiary of Inspire Brands, franchises Dunkin' coffee and donut restaurants. Its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) counts 9,999 Dunkin' restaurants in the USA as of December 28, 2025 (Item 1). This listing covers the Shopping Center/Storefront and Freestanding formats.

Key figures

Investment

from $443,000

Payback

not disclosed

Royalty

5.9% of Gross Sales

Initial fee

from $40,000

Listing updated October 21, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Dunkin'; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.

About the franchise

"As of December 28, 2025, our 2025 fiscal year end, there were 9,999 Dunkin' restaurants operating in the United States (9,963 franchised and 36 company-owned). Of those 9,999 restaurants, 8,744 were single-branded Dunkin' restaurants, 36 were Dunkin' restaurants operating at Multi-Brand Locations, and 1,219 were franchised Dunkin' and Baskin-Robbins combo restaurants," per the 2026 FDD (Item 1).

Dunkin's franchising page "Franchise with Dunkin'" (franchising.inspirebrands.com/dunkin) lists five steps for prospective franchisees: Apply, Discuss, Review, Interview, and Sign. At the Review step you study the Franchise Disclosure Document, and the Interview is with the franchise leadership team. To qualify, the page says, you need $250,000 in liquid assets and $500,000 in net worth; the FDD does not state these amounts.

The initial franchise fee for a Standard Dunkin' Restaurant runs from $40,000. The amount depends on the Development Area Type, which is set by the market area where the restaurant will be located, and the fee is due when you sign the Franchise Agreement (FDD Item 5). For each of your first five Dunkin' restaurants, the fee also covers initial training for two people: you or another owner, and a designated representative (FDD Items 5 and 11).

Item 19 of Dunkin's 2026 FDD states: "These financial performance representations provide actual, historical 'AUVs,' or 'Annual Unit Volumes,' for specific groups of franchised Dunkin' Restaurants."

Included in the franchise

Electronic access to Dunkin's Manuals: 1,235 pages of written materials on topics including Menu Items, Food Safety, Equipment, Operational Excellence, Digital/Mobile/Technology, Drive-Thru, and People (FDD Item 11)
Site review: you find and propose the site, and Dunkin' must accept it before you build (FDD Item 11); the "Franchise with Dunkin'" page of Dunkin's franchising site also lists construction guidance among its support
Purchasing and distribution through National DCP, LLC (NDCP), a cooperative owned by Dunkin' franchisees that you must join, with a one-time membership fee, currently $2,500; advertising through the Dunkin' Advertising and Sales Promotion Fund; and the Loyalty Program, in which every restaurant must take part (FDD Items 6, 8, and 11)
Initial training: the Dunkin' Training Program takes at least 19 days and is offered virtually or in a training-certified franchisee restaurant; you pay the trainees' uniforms, salaries, travel, and accommodation (FDD Item 11)

Franchisee requirements

At least $250,000 in liquid assets and $500,000 in net worth, as listed on the "Franchise with Dunkin'" page of Dunkin's franchising site; the FDD does not state these amounts
Capital sufficient for the total initial investment: from $443,000 for a Shopping Center/Storefront restaurant or from $532,400 for a Freestanding restaurant (FDD Item 7); Dunkin' does not offer direct or indirect financing (FDD Item 10)
Complete Dunkin's five-step application process, including an interview with the franchise leadership team ("Franchise with Dunkin'" page)
Run the restaurant with at least two people who have completed the initial training: you or another owner, and a designated representative (FDD Item 11)

Franchise agreement

The initial term of the Franchise Agreement is 20 years. You can renew for another 20 years if you meet the renewal conditions, which include signing the then-current form of Franchise Agreement and paying a renewal fee. A restaurant at a Special Distribution Opportunity (SDO) location, such as an airport or a train station, has no renewal rights (FDD Item 17).

Frequently asked questions

For a Shopping Center/Storefront restaurant, Item 7 of Dunkin's 2026 FDD puts the total initial investment from $443,000, and at least $40,340 of it must be paid to the franchisor or an affiliate (FDD cover page); a Freestanding restaurant starts from $532,400. Both totals exclude real property and the delivery vehicle you must buy, and the low end of building costs assumes a build-to-suit lease in which the landlord incurs most development costs (FDD Item 7). Both also count the Marketing Start-Up Fee at $0 at the low end, although Item 5 requires you to spend at least $10,000 on opening promotions for a Dunkin' restaurant (the "Standard Marketing Start-Up Fee").

The initial franchise fee for a Standard Dunkin' Restaurant runs from $40,000, depending on the Development Area Type. It is due when you sign the Franchise Agreement (FDD Item 5).

When you sign the Franchise Agreement, you pay Dunkin' an initial access fee, currently $340, for The Center, its online training platform, and you must join National DCP, paying its one-time membership fee, currently $2,500 (FDD Items 5 and 8). Initial training for each person beyond the two covered by the initial franchise fee (for your first five restaurants) costs $4,000 (the Initial Training Fee), and you must spend at least $10,000 on opening promotions (FDD Item 5).

Dunkin' charges a Continuing Franchise Fee of 5.9% of Gross Sales, plus a Continuing Advertising Fee of 5.0% of Gross Sales. Both are paid weekly (FDD Item 6). Depending on where the restaurant will be, a Franchise Agreement for a traditional restaurant signed on or before March 31, 2027 may qualify for the Standard or Strategic incentive program, with a Continuing Franchise Fee credit of $125,000 or $225,000 and a lower Continuing Advertising Fee in the first years, if all program conditions are met (FDD Items 5 and 6). In the Pacific Northwest Territory, a Franchise Agreement for a traditional restaurant signed on or before March 31, 2027 may qualify for the Pacific Northwest Incentive program, with a Continuing Franchise Fee credit of $25,000 for each restaurant and other credits, if all program conditions are met (FDD Items 5 and 6). Under the VetFran Program, a qualifying veteran or returning service member signing with Dunkin' for the first time receives a $10,000 Continuing Franchise Fee credit for each restaurant opened under the program's conditions, with a $100,000 maximum (FDD Item 6).

Each restaurant pays a Loyalty Program Contribution Payment on Loyalty Program Sales (in-store sales of eligible products to Loyalty Program members), weekly with the Continuing Franchise Fee. The FDD states its rate in Item 6 and in Exhibit J. Item 6 gives a current rate of 1.4% and a maximum rate, based on Dunkin's fiscal years, of 1.4% for 2025 through 2026 and 1.2% for 2027 and beyond. Exhibit J, the Loyalty Program Participation Agreement you must sign when you sign the Franchise Agreement, sets the rate at 1.6% of Loyalty Program Sales from relaunch of the Loyalty Program (or the date you open the restaurant to the general public or assume operations through a transfer) through the end of the first full fiscal year. The annual subscription for The Center, Dunkin's online training platform, is currently $340 per restaurant (FDD Item 6). Item 6 also lists a possible service fee for Inspire Payment Services, through which an affiliate may collect amounts from franchisees and pay vendors; Item 6 gives no amount ("Varies"). Technology is bought and maintained through approved suppliers, which may include Dunkin' or its affiliates. Item 11 lists recurring technology costs, including annual POS maintenance from $3,119, back-of-house software from $51 per month, Store Network services from $225 per month per restaurant, a Service Desk contract from $570 per restaurant per year, and digital menu board services from $13 per panel per month.

As of December 28, 2025, there were 9,999 Dunkin' restaurants operating in the USA, including 1,219 combo restaurants with Baskin-Robbins (2026 FDD, Item 1).
Updated: October 21, 2026196 views

Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?

Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.