Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC, part of Yum! Brands, franchises Taco Bell quick-service restaurants serving Mexican-style food in the USA. This listing covers a new In-Line or End-Cap, a new free-standing Traditional Unit, and existing restaurants that Taco Bell or an affiliate sells on occasion.
Key figures
Investment
from $934,750
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
5.5% of Gross Sales
Initial fee
$25,000
Listing updated October 21, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Taco Bell; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
Key figures
Investment
from $934,750
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
5.5% of Gross Sales
Initial fee
$25,000
Listing updated October 21, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Taco Bell; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
About the franchise
According to Item 1 of its 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD), Taco Bell Franchisor, LLC franchises Taco Bell restaurants in the USA, and its ultimate parent is Yum! Brands, Inc. Item 20 of the FDD counts 7,998 Taco Bell units in the USA at the end of 2025. For Taco Bell worldwide, Yum! Brands' Form 10-K for fiscal 2025 states: "The Taco Bell Division has 9,030 units, 86% of which are in the U.S."
For a new restaurant, Taco Bell reviews trade areas and possible sites, considers sites for approval, and provides its standard building plans. You get electronic access on MyTacoBell to OneSource, the online platform with Taco Bell's operating methods, standards, and procedures (about 4,500 pages), including online training courses. You and one manager must successfully complete Taco Bell's operations training program, which lasts at least 7 weeks and is tuition-free for you both; you pay travel and living expenses. A Taco Bell representative helps coordinate pre-opening activities and is available to assist throughout the opening week, and Taco Bell develops an advertising program for the opening (FDD Item 11).
Item 7 of the FDD has separate tables for a new Traditional Unit, a new In-Line or End-Cap, and the purchase of an existing restaurant from Taco Bell or an affiliate. A Traditional Unit is a free-standing building, often with a drive-thru; its total starts from $1,859,750. In-Lines are in-line locations with or without a drive-thru, and an In-Line with a drive-thru is called an End-Cap; the total for a new In-Line or End-Cap starts from $934,750, the investment shown on this listing. Both totals include a Real Property line, estimated for a purchased site for a Traditional Unit and for a leased site for an In-Line or End-Cap. The initial franchise fee is $45,000 for a new Traditional Unit and $25,000 for a new In-Line or End-Cap (FDD Items 1, 5, and 7).
On occasion, Taco Bell or an affiliate sells existing restaurants to certain franchisees or licensees. Item 7 puts the total purchase price from $175,000, excluding real property; it includes the initial franchise fee and the value of the building, equipment, signs, and inventory. The price varies, and when more than one restaurant is sold, they are priced as a group, not one by one. You sign an Asset Purchase Agreement and generally pay a deposit of 2% of the price, and you may also have to sign a Market Build Out Agreement to develop one or more new restaurants. Of the pre-opening services, a buyer of an existing restaurant receives only OneSource and the training course (FDD Items 1, 5, 7, and 11).
Item 19 of Taco Bell's 2026 FDD makes no representations about the past or future financial performance of company-owned or franchised Units, "with the limited exception of use of the Bell Point, Kalibrate, and Site Zeus forecast tools that are available to all franchisees developing free-standing, drive-thru Units."
Included in the franchise
Franchisee requirements
Franchise agreement
The initial Franchise Agreement runs 10 years for a new In-Line or End-Cap, 25 years for a new Traditional Unit, and 20 years if you convert an existing non-Taco Bell quick-service restaurant building. If you buy an existing restaurant from Taco Bell or an affiliate, the term may follow your lease or be shorter, depending on the type and age of the restaurant. The Franchise Agreement grants no renewal rights; in limited situations, an In-Line 10+10 Addendum gives certain In-Line Units one 10-year successor term on conditions. At its discretion, Taco Bell may grant a successor agreement if you are operationally and financially approved under its then-current guidelines, upgrade or relocate the restaurant, and pay a successor fee. For a successor agreement, Item 17 of the FDD gives 20 years for a Traditional Unit; note B(iv) to Item 6 gives 25 years after an offset or a scrape/rebuild upgrade and 20 years after a major remodel. For an In-Line or End-Cap, Items 6 and 17 both give 10 years. Taco Bell also reserves the right to offer a 5-year term for atypical locations or unusual development or operational circumstances (FDD Items 6 and 17).
Frequently asked questions
Similar franchises in this category
Food & Beverage: Restaurants & Fast Food
Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?
Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.


