OTF Franchisor, LLC franchises Orangetheory Fitness, studios that offer group interval training based on heart rate zones: during workouts, members wear heart rate monitors connected to the brand's proprietary OTbeat system. Since April 2024 the franchisor has been part of Purpose Brands; its affiliates franchise Anytime Fitness, The Bar Method, and Waxing the City.
Key figures
Investment
from $764,577
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
8% of Gross Sales
Initial fee
$59,950
Listing updated October 21, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Orangetheory Fitness; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
Key figures
Investment
from $764,577
Payback
not disclosed
Royalty
8% of Gross Sales
Initial fee
$59,950
Listing updated October 21, 2026. Investment, royalty, and initial fee are from the franchisor's Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) and may be out of date; check them with the franchisor and in its current FDD. Franch Monsters is not affiliated with Orangetheory Fitness; this page is not an offer to sell a franchise.
About the franchise
Item 20 of the 2026 Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD) counts 1,333 Orangetheory studios in the USA at the end of 2023 (1,311 franchised and 22 affiliate-owned), 1,298 at the end of 2024, and 1,224 at the end of 2025 (1,209 franchised and 15 affiliate-owned). Item 19 of the same FDD reports total Gross Sales and monthly member counts for the franchised studios that were open and operating throughout the 12 months ended February 28, 2026, both for all of these studios and by Gross Sales quartile; it does not reflect costs or expenses. The franchisor, OTF Franchisor, LLC, is a Delaware company that has offered Orangetheory franchises since March 2019 and does not operate any studios itself; from July 2010 to March 2019, franchises were sold by its affiliate and predecessor, Ultimate Fitness Group, LLC. On April 2, 2024, OTF Franchisor became an indirect, wholly owned subsidiary of Purpose Brands Holdings, LLC, and the franchisors of Anytime Fitness, The Bar Method, and Waxing the City became its affiliates (FDD Items 1, 19, and 20).
The investment shown on this page is for a single studio under a Franchise Agreement (Item 7 of the FDD); the fees for developing three or more studios under an Area Development Agreement, the payments due before and after opening, the capital requirements, and the opening deadlines are in the sections below.
On its franchising page for the USA (orangetheory.com/en-us/franchising), Orangetheory says that "development opportunities are limited" (checked October 19, 2026).
Included in the franchise
Franchisee requirements
Franchise agreement
The initial term of the Franchise Agreement is 10 years from its effective date; after the lease or other agreement for the site is signed, the parties may agree on a longer term, up to 11 years, to line it up with that agreement. A franchisee who meets the conditions may acquire a successor franchise for one more 10-year term; the conditions include giving six months' notice, repairing and updating equipment, remodeling the studio premises, signing the then-current franchise agreement, which may contain materially different terms, and paying a successor franchise fee of 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee for new franchisees (FDD Items 6 and 17).
A transfer of the franchise is subject to conditions, including a transfer fee: 50% of the then-current initial franchise fee for new franchisees for a Control Transfer (a transfer of any interest in the Franchise Agreement, of the studio or substantially all of its assets, of a 20% or greater interest in the franchisee's entity, or of an ownership interest that changes control of that entity), or 25% for other transfers, except a transfer to an entity formed to operate the studio (FDD Item 6).
If the Franchise Agreement is terminated by either party, the franchisee must pay, as liquidated damages, all amounts it would have paid the franchisor for the rest of the term, including Royalties and Brand Fund Contributions calculated on the studio's average weekly Gross Sales in the six months before termination. This payment is set by Section 17(a) of the Franchise Agreement and is not listed in the Item 6 fee table. The Washington addendum to the Franchise Agreement limits it to the rest of the term or 24 months after termination, whichever is less (Franchise Agreement, Section 17(a); Washington addendum, Section 20).
Frequently asked questions
Similar franchises in this category
Fitness: Gyms & Studios
Want to list your franchise in the Franch Monsters catalog?
Leave your contact details and we will reach out about listing your franchise in the catalog.